Aurora University Rejoins, Becomes 27th ACI Member Jan. 8, 2020



The ACI Board of Trustees approved <u>Aurora University's</u> application to rejoin ACI, effective Dec. 1, 2019. With the addition of Aurora, ACI's membership grew to <u>27</u> colleges and universities statewide.

Aurora and its George Williams College campus were instrumental in the formation of ACI in 1952 and are both charter members.

Aurora University traces its origin to the 1893 founding of a seminary in Mendota, Illinois. Today, the university operates two primary campuses: a 37-acre campus in Aurora, Illinois and the 137-acre George Williams College on Geneva Lake in Williams Bay, Wisconsin. The university is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission to award degrees at the baccalaureate, master's and doctoral levels. Aurora offers more than 50 academic majors and enrolls 5,800 students, with a 17-1 student/faculty ratio.

<u>Dr. Rebecca L. Sherrick</u> has served as Aurora's president since 2000. She earned an undergraduate degree from ACI-member Illinois Wesleyan University, Bloomington, and a doctorate from Northwestern University, Evanston.