ACI welcomes Wheaton College, elects new leaders, OKs new mission statement May 31, 2017



The ACI Board of Trustees met April 28 in Chicago. Among them were President Troy Hammond, center, North Central College, Naperville, and left, President John Comerford, Blackburn College, Carlinville.

The <u>board of trustees</u> of Associated Colleges of Illinois (ACI) approved <u>Wheaton College</u>, Wheaton, Illinois, as an ACI member, effective June 1. The board took the action at its annual meeting this spring at the University Club of Chicago. Wheaton College becomes ACI's 24th <u>member college or university</u>.

ACI, now in its 65th year, is a nonprofit organization serving private, independent higher education in Illinois, including more than 60,000 students. Its board, consisting of presidents of member colleges and universities, plus 30 corporate members, also approved organizational leaders, a new mission statement, plus a three-year strategic plan and business plan for the fiscal year beginning June 1.

Wheaton College is a Christian liberal arts college and graduate school noted for its rigorous academics, integration of faith and learning, and consistent ranking among the top liberal arts colleges in the country. Since its founding in 1860, Wheaton has been guided by its original mission to provide excellence in Christian higher education. The College offers more than 40 undergraduate degrees and 16 graduate degrees, as well as a diverse range of co-curricular activities that develop students "For Christ and His Kingdom."

Board elects leaders

Board members elected Frank D. Cella of Marsh, Chicago, as chair, succeeding James S. Wylie, also of Marsh, who concluded a two-year term. Cella said he was honored to be elected to the post, and noted he has devoted most of his professional career to higher education. President Barbara A. Farley of Illinois College, Jacksonville, was elected to a second two-year term as ACI president, and Clifton L. Fenton, Chicago, was reelected secretary/treasurer. They join Mick Weltman, ACI executive director, who has been in the role since 2014.

President Jamel SC Wright of Eureka College, Eureka, Illinois, was elected to the executive committee, succeeding President



President Barbara A. Farley, left, Illinois College, Jacksonville, was reelected president of the ACI. Frank D. Cella, center, Marsh, Chicago, was elected to a twoyear term as chair of the board of trustees. With them is Mick Weltman, ACI executive director.

David L. Parkyn of North Park University, Chicago, who retired. She joins President John L. Comerford of Blackburn College, Carlinville, and Chipo Nyambuya, Virgil LLC, as a memberat-large. The board also re-elected committee chairs, including Bill Powell, Arthur J. Gallagher & Co., Advancement; Fenton, Audit/Investment; Lyn Bulman, Fellowes, Inc., Programs, and Jerry Murphy, St. Charles, Trusteeship.

Board members approved three new corporate board members. They are Angela T. Allen, Washington, Pittman & McKeever, LLC, Chicago; Patrick H. Dominick, U.S. Trust, Bank of America, Chicago; and Simon Reeves, PNC Capital Advisors, LLC, Chicago.